The LBW Law

The section below is a helpful guide to the LBW law:

For a batter to be given out LBW the umpire must first carefully consider: 

a) Was the delivery a No Ball?

b) Did the ball strike the bat (or glove holding the bat) of the batter before hitting any other part of the batter?

c) Did the ball pitch outside the line of the leg stump?

d) Did the ball hit the batter outside the line of the off stump and the batter was playing a shot?

If the answer to any ONE of the above is “YES” then the batter CAN NOT be given out LBW. 

e)
Would the ball have hit the wicket if it hadn’t hit the batter?  (Remember to check height as well).

f)
Did the ball pitch (or would have pitched) on the imaginary straight line path between wicket and wicket or on the off side?

g)
Did the batter get hit in the imaginary path between wicket and wicket (or if not playing a shot, outside the off stump)?

If the answer to ALL of (e) to (g) is “YES” and NONE of the answers to (a) to (d) is “YES” then the batter should be given out LBW.

